I have windows 10 audacity 2.1.1 and have tried every way to use Voxemo oldskool verb .it shows in the effects manage section then I enable it go back and it will not shown in the effects list. I go back to manage section an it is disabled again .i have installed uninstalled. tried everything. I loaded it last night in my old computer I had to update from audacity 1.2xx? windows xp and it works like a charm. anyone know a solution?
After enabling an effect you have to click on the OK button in the manage section to actually enable it.
( seems unnecessary , but that’s the way it is ).
Certainly had me fooled when I was testing it in a pre-release alpha prior to documenting it for the Manual - and it still catches me out sometimes
I have just entered this on Bugzilla as an enhancement request: http://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1280
+1 The need to click on OK after enabling/disabling does seem unnecessary.
Just checked, Voxengo OldSkoolVerb does work in Audacity 2.1.1 …
Especially since the plug-in manager moves it immediately to the Enabled or Disabled list, if say you activate the “New” button at top right of the dialog.
Having said that - the OK/Cancel are exactly in line with the GUI for Preferences, so I’m not expecting changes here.
Maybe rephrasing “OK” to “Save” might just do the trick?
thanks for that suggestion - I added it to the Bugzilla thread: http://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1280
What would happen then if the user wanted to enable some effects and disable some others and/or does not know how to multiple select rows? If clicking Enable or Disable closes Plug-in Manager and saves the changes that makes more work for that user.
Gale, I’ve just added a +1 comment in the Bug 1018 to relabel the “OK” button to “Save”: http://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1018
I wasn’t suggesting that . My suggestion would be that the Enable/Disable preferences be saved, as they are shown, when the plug-in manager window is closed. Having to press an OK/SAVE button just prior to closing that window seems an unnecessary extra step. However if that was the case then there would not be the option to abort saving any changes if you had second-thoughts during the process of selecting.
Alternatively, leave things as they are, but show a message like “changes not saved” if the Plug-in Manager window is closed without pressing OK/SAVE. Then the user will know why the effects they have enabled are not appearing in the Effects menu.
well I tried the install a couple more times still nothing, later while looking for something else I found a copy in my regular program folder. I uninstalled the other and moved the found copy to my x86 folder and enabled and there it was. How sweet it is Thanks for all the responses. I also did the same thing with the tube amp.
+1 for either of those suggestions - but I’m more in favour of the first one - as Trebor points out the fact that the GUI moves the things to the appropriate list once the Enable/Disable button is pressed (use any view other than “All” to see this happening - and even in the “All” view the “State” changes to the new state) so it really looks to the user that the change has already been made. Using an “OK” button imo is poor GUI design, if it does require confirmation, and I can see that you might want that so that you can still have the Cancel, the it should be given greater clarity of purpose by relabeling it something like “Confirm” or “Save”.
Glad you got it sorted steve.
To fit all eventualities, the message would have to be “any changes you have made have not been saved” , as the user may not have made any changes.
Then OK is no more an extra step than pressing ESC or the window Close button to close the window.
The difference is that ESC or Close discard changes but OK “saves” changes.
Exactly. And if the dialogue has a Cancel button, the usual implication is that window Close does Cancel.
But then to be consistent we would have to do the same for other dialogues too, Preferences, Labels Editor and so on.
So for that consistency reason I am not sure we should call the OK button “Save” in “Plug-in Manager.”
“Manage Curves” in Equalization has some fixed text that OK saves all changes. Perhaps we should add that text to Plug-in Manager too, as it is a “manager”.
Against that we already have text at the top, “Select effects, click the Enable or Disable button, then click OK.”
So if we want extra text we have to decide to append it to the text at the top or perhaps have at the top
“Select effects then click the Enable or Disable button.”
and at the bottom:
“Clicking OK saves all changes, cancelling or closing does not”.
Be aware that Audacity cannot use 64-bit VST plugins or VST3 plugins. The default OldSkool Reverb install on 64-bit systems is 64-bit plugins only, but Audacity would not see those.
well it seems after trying to use the effect my program has become unresponsive. my clicks are not being recognized takes several to initiate, on the effects menu when scrolling the menu, just disappears i will have to open it several times just to scroll to manage position. nothing seems to be working right now. even when i try to highlight a track it just skips all over. Frustrated