Wondering what *.aup3-shm & *.aup3-wal files are for. Do I need them?

I don’t remember seeing them before & am wondering if I need to copy them along with the main file if I move them to another folder or another computer, etc.

You absolutely need them when you project is open - they are temporary files for the project, Audacity deletes them when you close the project.

They are blocked from deletion while the project is open.

Peter

1 Like

If you’re interested in the technical details, they’re the Write-Ahead-Log (WAL) and a SHared Memory (shm) which indexes the WAL. This page has more information: WAL-mode File Format

1 Like

Thank you very much.

I could have sworn that they were still showing after I closed the project in the past, but perhaps not. Maybe that’s what Audacity is doing when I close it & a pop up says “compressing files”.

In any event, that lets me ignore them if I do see them & not worry about transferring them to another folder or another computer.

Thanks again!

Thank you for taking the time to help!

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.