I could only install on 3.7.7 (the “latest” available, apparently, Win10) but was surprised to find the archaic “Save as” window sends me all round the garden of clicking on folders & folders & more folders to get to my target directory, when I just want to copy-paste the target directory like any modern app. Hopefully that will be updated in Audacity 4.![]()
You can set your preferred directories for projects and for exports in Audacity’s “Preferences” dialog.
@romontschun not in Audacity 4 you can’t - Muse seem to have removed this from the AU4 prefs
Unless, that is, the currently empty “Advanced options” will offer that opportunity …
Peter
Mh… @Newrone wrote: “I could only install on 3.7.7” - so (s)he does obviously not use Audacity 4…
And, as we all (should) know, Audacity 4 is not a finished product. It is “alpha” or at best “beta” software.
[May 2026]
“Audacity 4 alpha” is still in development and incomplete. It is not yet production ready, so it is NOT recommended for general use.
But this is the Audacity 4 Forum thread ![]()
Peter
Hi Steve,
indeedy - but it’s totally amazing to me that (judging by posts on this Forum) that many folk are indeed using iffy alpha software for production use …
Peter
I think the OP was saying that they hoped that a behaviour in the latest Audacity 3.x would be improved in Audacity 4:
I just want to copy-paste the target directory like any modern app. Hopefully that will be updated in Audacity 4
My other comment was just to ensure that anyone reading this thread does not get the wrong impression about the readiness of Audacity 4 for production work (it is not yet safe for production work).
Yes, I know, but I need to save each project in a different folder.
I have similar with my photo processing in Lightroom Classic.
My workflow post-processing is to export my jpegs to a single standard directory in my Pictures folder - and then use Windows Explorer to move them to where I really want them.
This just avoids me having to mess around in the export settings each time.
Peter.
This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
