2.3.0 has lost keyboard input on dialog boxes

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 9680
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: 2.3.0 has lost keyboard input on dialog boxes

Post by waxcylinder » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:37 am

waxcylinder wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:26 pm
we have fixed the crashing issue for the upcoming 2.3.1, but we have a residual bug wherby on returning to the label and right clicking no context menu appears (but at least there is no crash).

The simple workaround is to left click in the label first and then you can right click to get the context menu

Original (closed) bug: https://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2028

New residual bug: https://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2044

And right now we are totally baffled as to why the context menu fails to appear. But it only appears to affect Mojave and not Sierra or High Sierra.

No longer baffled - we fixed that too for the upcoming 2.3.1 - see:
https://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2044

Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 9680
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: 2.3.0 has lost keyboard input on dialog boxes

Post by waxcylinder » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:44 am

jarome wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 2:16 pm
The dialog box bug is even more important to me...
Hi jarome,

This is Bug #2027 "Mac: cannot use keyboard "Return" to accept a corrected legalized filename in Export Multiple"
https://bugzilla.audacityteam.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2027

This is listed as a high priority bug at P2 - which means that it does b=not necessarily block the release (that is at the Release Manager's discretion)

I have asked the Release Manager of he can find some time to look at this bug and he said he will try. No promises though, he is pretty tied up for a couple of weeks in mid December.


One of the guys that tests on Mac for us noted the following yesterday in that 2077 bug thread:
"This happens in several other places as well. For Instance a keyboard shortcut to change the recording volume used to respond to the Return key after entry of a new value and now it does not."


Cheers,
Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *

DJDemon
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 12:14 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: 2.3.0 has lost keyboard input on dialog boxes

Post by DJDemon » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:51 pm

jarome wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:55 pm
On my Mac (Mojave) when audacity wants to change a file name because of illegal characters, it pops up a box with the suggested new name. Previous versions allowed you to hit return to accept the new name. Now it only responds to mouse clicks.
I can confirm this with macOS 10.12 (Sierra), too: Pop-up boxes do in general no longer treat he "return" key as OK. (They do, however respond to the "esc" key as expected, i.e., CANCEL)

RMSU
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 9:59 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: 2.3.0 has lost keyboard input on dialog boxes

Post by RMSU » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:34 am

Same issue here: to have my work going faster I NEED that RETURN key will be accepted as OK in dialog boxes.
It is accepted when exporting, BUT NOT when adding effects, what is very important for me.
I hope there will be a fix for this soon.

looking forward to it.

Post Reply