Will my old projects be affected if I update Audacity?

Hi, all! I was planning to update from version 3.0.2 to 3.2 to be able to use Izotope RX 12 in Audacity, but I have some projects that are still in progress. If I update to 3.2, will I still be able to open and edit the projects I started in 3.0.2? Thanks!

In general, later versions of Audacity 3.x can open projects from older version, but not the other way around.

Audacity 3.2 will open 3.0.2 projects. You may need to save them as 3.2 projects which you will no longer be able to open in 3.0.2. [Audacity 3.2 introduced real-time effects, which suggests that the project format would be to be different from previous versions.]

You might want to consider updating to 3.7.8 to get all the latest features. As long as you don’t discard your 3.0.2 projects you’ll be able to go back to 3.2, but anything you save from 3.7.8 will not be able to be opened in 3.2 or 3.0.2 (not even 3.6 IIRC).

Thanks for this! I was thinking about updating to the newest version, but I heard that somewhere along the line, they took out the “click to merge” function that I find myself using somewhat often.

Yes, at some point the ability to click on a split line to join the two clips was removed. I don’t recall which version that was. For a while now you’ve needed to drag-select across the split line then do Command/Control-J.