Where to save files for export

I am having trouble saving audio files in Windows 10. Can anyone tell me WHERE to save audio files in Windows 10 so that I can find them and export them to an mp3 file in Audacity?

Are you really a podcaster as per someone else’s podcasting topic you posted in? I am guessing not, so I started a new topic for you in the Windows board with a relevant title.

Gale

Assuming you are not logged in as an administrator, you have to save the AUP Audacity project file in your own user space, like your Documents or Music folder (C:\Users<your username>\Music, for example). When you click File > Save Project…, click in “Save in:” at the top to change where you save.

Modern Windows won’t let you save in the Program Files folder or in the top level of C:, unless you are logged in as Administrator.

Gale

Thanks, Gale :slight_smile: No, I am not a podcaster as of yet, but I have a program that I am working on including corresponding website and blog. I am studying how to do this and I am the newest kind of newbie to podcasting. I haven’t even gotten my equipment yet.

I am logged in as an Administrator and I have never had this much trouble with mp3 files. The old Windows program used to save audio files as mp3 automatically. When I record in Windows Recorder, I can pull up the audio files but the system can’t find them for export. Audio recordings are automatically saved under Music Tools and I can’t access the tab for Sound recordings because when I click on it (left or right) Nothing happens. Crazy, huh? Thanks anyway.

OK … there is a lot of information on the Podcasting board so I’m sure we’ll see you there before too long. But this topic is a more general one about Windows really.

This doesn’t seem to be anything to do with Audacity, though. Windows Sound Recorder has been replaced in Windows 10 by a new modern app “Voice Recorder”.

Does this help: Where Does Voice Recorder App Save Files In Windows 10 ?