Unable to record

Windows 8.1, Audacity 2.1.0
I have a turntable hooked to a receiver hooked to my laptop via a RCA to stereo cable. This setup was working with no problem before today (last recorded 1-2 weeks ago). Now I’m getting no recording activity at all. I’ve tried a bunch of different options (I don’t know what they are) in Audacity and I’m left wondering my problems have something to do with the Windows recording device…I don’t know. I’m a newbie and have been able to get things working “by gosh and by golly” before, but not today. I have (2) inputs on my laptop: headphone and mic. Can somebody please help me to solve these issues and record again? Thanks a lot for any input!

[u]This page[/u] explains how to select the correct input for recording.

I have a turntable hooked to a receiver hooked to my laptop via a RCA to stereo cable.

Your receiver has Tape Out, right? And that’s what you’re using right?

I have (2) inputs on my laptop: headphone and mic.

The headphone connection is an output, not an input. :wink: I assume you are using the mic input? The mic input should “work”, and I assume that’s what was working for you before, But, the mic input is generally too sensitive for a line level (“Tape”) signal, it’s generally low quality, and it generally mono… It’s a mic input designed for a computer mic. It’s not correct for a line-level connection, and it’s not correct for a stage or studio microphone either.

To properly record a line-level signal, you need an interface with line level inputs. The [u]Behringer UCA 202[/u] is an economical option. BTW - Behringer also makes the UFO 202 which has a switchable phono/line input so you can connect it directly to your magnetic phono cartridge.