ulaw file plays as static

I have hundreds of files that are .ulaw format and when I try to play them it just sounds like static. I have attached the MediaInfo output showing the technical details of the file type. These files were generated with an ancient system that has had a technical failure and can no longer play the files. They are simple audio files. One interesting thing about them is that they should be much longer than they’re saying they are.

I downloaded Audacity, used Import>Raw Data>encoding U-Law>sample rate 8000 Hz. I found these recommendations on the internet and that’s why I downloaded Audacity. It didn’t work. I’m hoping I’ve done something wrong and someone here can steer me right. Perhaps something to do with compression?

I have little experience working with audio files, so plain English would be great :slight_smile:
audio data.PNG

One interesting thing about them is that they should be much longer than they’re saying they are.

I don’t know but that might be a clue.

An 8kHz sample rate x 8-bits is a bitrate of 64kbps, so at least MediaInfo agrees with itself. And as you may know, there are 8 bits in a byte so the file size should be 8000 bytes per second (if MediaInfo is telling the truth).

And, 8kHz/54KB is 6.5 seconds.

…If the playing time is actually longer than that, the bitrate is lower than indicated. If it’s uncompressed, the true sample rate is less than 8kHz and/or bit depth is lower than 8-bits.

Just for the heck of it, try GSM 6.10 instead of uLaw. It has a lower bitrate (so longer playing time for a given file size).

Audacity can import standard CCITT u-law files as normal audio files. “Import RAW” is only required if the files are “headerless” (raw data rather than properly defined WAV files).

There is a u-law test file here: https://forum.audacityteam.org/download/file.php?id=3047