Tips on using Yeti Mic for recording podcast in Audacity

Hi,

I am just starting out with recording in Audacity (2.0.3) on a macbook pro (OS X 10.8.4).

I will be recording myself reading from a novel, (installments to be sent out by subscription).

I want to create best quality I can with what I have which is a Yeti Mic. I would LOVE some tips from anyone familiar with Yeti mic for a similar purpose.

• Am assuming Carotoid is best setting?
    My distance from Mic?
    MIc’s distance from computer?
    I enunciate syllables so create the hissing s’s and popping P’s and noisy B’s. Doesn’t happen when I distance from the Mic, but then my voice drops in volume, too. What to do?
    I read recently that a dynamic mic would have been a better choice than a condensor mic, which the Yeti is, I believe? Any way to compensate?
    I also do not have a dedicated recording space, so will be recording at home. (I posted another question inviting tips about space, too)
    Anything else useful to know? :question:

Big thanks!
A

That is likely to be the best for voice recording, so I’d certainly start with that setting.
Once you have some good clean recordings with that setting, then you can read up about the other polar responses and try them out - they may be useful at specific times.

Quite close.
You will need to experiment to find the “sweet spot”, but probably around 10 cm.
Use a “pop filter”.

To avoid picking up fan noise, as far as possible, but ensure that the mouse and keyboard are within easy reach (can be awkward with a laptop).

Not the answer that you want, but you will need to learn to talk without excessive “ess’ing”. sipping water helps to keep the mouth fresh - a dash of lemon juice in the water can be even fresher. “Ess’s” often sound worse than they really are when listening on headphones.