tips for a newbie recording a live band via USB mic

Dear Audacity Users –

I need some quick tips for a newbie recording a live band via USB mic.

I am brand new to Audacity and I am recording my live band, (digital piano + bass + drums + guitar), in a practice room, via a USB mic, direct to disk via Audacity.

I have this mic…

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004QJOZS4/

Audio-Technica ATR2100-USB Cardioid Dynamic USB/XLR Microphone

…and we play progressive-rock, jazz, fusion, jam-band stuff, and similar tunes.

Here is the scenario…

Step 1: Some of our live sessions are recorded direct to disk via a single USB mic hanging from the ceiling, using Audacity.

Step 2: When I view the output in Audacity, I see 2 tracks for these sessions.

Step 3: Then, I apply Audacity’s Normalization (with default settings) first, then I apply Equalization (with default settings) .

Step 4: Then, I export the whole thing to MP3 at 256kbps, and it sounds OK, for a poor-hack’s draft.

Here are the questions regarding Step 3 and help in general…

Question A: Are these the right effects to be applying? Should I apply fewer? Should I apply more? Should I apply Compression?

Question B: What is the correct order for applying such effects? For example, Normalize first and Equalize second, or the other way around?

Question C: Is there anything else in Audacity that I should be doing?

Please advise.

Thanks.

– Mark Kamoski

Starting with 4. Export the work as WAV at the default settings. That’s your Session Master. Then, if you want to export a lesser quality work for your iPod or internet posting, then export MP3. Never do production in MP3. MP3 creates sound damage every time you use it and you can’t stop it. The MP3 is the throw-away version.

As for the other tools, what are you trying to achieve? Is there something broken about the show when you listen on the timeline? Default Equalizer generally will not do anything, so that step is just to exercise your fingers.