Stereo microphone: right channel = left channel?

Hey there,

I’m a complete newbie in terms of recording and I recently got this new stereo mic (click for picture), and whenever I record something (in Audacity or any other program) the right channel is exactly the same as the left one. So even when I cover the right mic with my hand, the recorded ‘right channel’, just like the left channel, sounds perfectly clear – but when I cover the left mic, both channels sound muffled.

In short, the right channel just ‘mirrors’ the left channel.

Could this be a software issue or is it more likely to be some kind of hardware defect?

If you look at the instructions for this microphone, I bet it says to use it with a Sony DAT machine, Sony camcorder, or other Sony product. It’s not a “generic” microphone.

The generic Mic-In on your Windows Laptop is mono. The connection is the second illustration – scroll down.

http://www.kozco.com/tech/audioconnectors/audioconnectors.html

The sleeve is to shield the system from hum and buzz, the ring in the middle is to power the microphone and the tip carries the single channel (mono) audio.

It’s remotely possible that it’s a line-level microphone in which case plug it into the Stereo Line-In which your Windows Laptop probably does not have.

So I don’t think anything is broken. You need a trip to your instruction book.

Koz

No, it actually doesn’t say so… anywhere. It’s this mic: http://www.amazon.com/Sony-ECMCS3-Omnidirectional-Stereo-Microphone/dp/B0058MJX4O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354668701&sr=8-1

And it’s not plugged in to a laptop, it’s plugged to the Creative X-Fi sound card in my PC…

Okay, forget this; it’s Creative’s fault. Everything works fine when I plug it into my onboard microphone jack. Just the X-Fi is making trouble.

I guess I’ll try out a different driver or something…

When you do get it running, blow up the blue waves and make sure you’re actually in stereo.