Sound is way off

Hello.

Preface: total newbie.

Intent: Produce quality sounding audiobooks for ACX.

Issue: Meeting ACX required RMS and Peak Values destroys sound quality. Comes across as way too loud, robotic, and mechanical.

Settings: Max playback and recording volume. Max speaker and microphone volume. Gain, 0.

An audio recording without any added effects has a very low RMS and Peak value.

Peak level = -15.53 dB
RMS level = -37.33 dB
Noisefloor = -60.64 dB

Followed standard instructions to meet ACX criteria i.e.: effects low-roll-off speech EQ, RMS normalization to -20 dB, limiter to 3.5 soft limit, and noise reduction (based on the noise profile for the first 5 seconds of silence).

The revised audio file meets the ACX check, and the Audiolab verification tool on ACX, but the audio sounds terrible. It sounds like the volume is cranked way too high, with a mechanical tonality to it.

The ACX check doesn’t always work. In order to meet the Audiolab verification too, I’ve had to program audacity to the following settings:
-Peak level: cut off to -6.5 dB
-RMS normalization to -23
-Noisefloor to -25

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Check Windows “audio enhancements” are disabled
https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/topic/disable-audio-enhancements
Disable recording & playback enhancements for faithful sound.

BTW there can also be a second layer of “audio enhancements”
such as MaxxAudio, or DTS, (depending on computer manufacturer).

That’s very low. Here are some possible explanations …
Speaking into the insensitive side of microphone.
Accidentally recording from computer’s built-in in microphone.
Not supplying phantom power to a mic which requires it.
Mic level slider in Audacity not turned up to maximum.
Mic has gain knob which is not turned up high enough.
The mic level slider(s) within Windows sound not turned up high enough …

Trebor.