Recording Volume too high

Let me start out by saying I am brand new to using Audacity and recording.
I just picked up a Tascam DR-05 and tested it out on NYE to record our friends band. I was super excited to check it out when I got home but when I listened back it sounded like a whole lotta static. I’m not sure but I believe I had my recording volume too high and was basically at peak them whole time. Is there any way that I can manipulate the recorded volume to go down through Audacity so it actually sounds like music? Thanks for any help!

In a word, no. The damage is unrecoverable.

What levels were indicated on the DR05 while you were recording? Did you use its Peak Reduction feature and the built-in limiter?

– Bill

PS: please do not double-post. I have removed your identical post from the Audio Processing section.

Not sure what the levels were - as I mentioned this is my first attept at recording - I briefly scanned the manual but wasn’t sure of all the features or what they did - so I’m guessing I didn’t use either the Peak Reduction or limiter. Good to know that they are there and could have resolved this issue.

I pretty much set up high behind the bar on a mini tripod and let it go. It seems to me that there are a few things worth checking on the fly. I guess lesson learned…the hard way - I missed some great music. I guess I have some homework to do before my next show.

When the automatic transmission first appeared in cars, it only meant that you didn’t have to manually shift gears anymore.

It did NOT relieve you of the duty of being a safe and knowledgable driver.

Yes, a little education is in order, especially seeing how you were greener than a shamrock your first time out.

I’ve been doing my own recording for the past two decades, but after my first encounter with a 4-Track Portastudio, I was seriously wondering if I had wasted my money.