recording voicemails from iPhone to computer

I’m running Windows 7 and Audacity 2.1.1.

I’m very new to Audacity with little experience in the recording world. I have a number of voicemails from my daughter and aged father that I would desperately like to keep. I now have no room for any new voicemails, but I can’t bring myself to erase any of those from my family. To solve the problem I was excited to find Audacity on the web. Unfortunately, after reading the directions and quite a bit of time trying I cannot figure out how to move the voicemails to my computer. Can anyone tell me what settings to use? Of course, I’m assuming, maybe incorrectly that I’ve connected everything the right way.

My iPhone is connected using the headphone jack directly to the computer’s headphone jack. The Audacity set-up I’m using is: MME for the Audio Host; Microphone (Realtek High Def) for the Recording Device; 2 (Stereo) Recording for the Recording Channels; Speakers (Realtek High Definition) for the Playback Device. I’ve also checked the Overdub on and Software Playback on.

Can someone please let me know what I am doing wrong? Thank you. :slight_smile:

My iPhone is connected using the headphone jack directly to the computer’s headphone jack.

Those are both outputs… It’s like talking into someone’s mouth instead of talking into their ear. :wink:

First, I’d try transferring the files digitally via USB. You may need to check your phone’s user manual for how to do that.

For an analog connection with a desktop computer with a regular soundcard, you can connect the phone’s headphone-out to line-in. If you have a laptop with a separate microphone-in, you can try that but it’s a mismatch and the headphone output will probably overdrive and distort the mic input. If you have a newer laptop with a combo mic/headphone jack, you’ll need a special cable to make the mic connection and you’re still in danger of distorting.