Recording very many songs so that they play consecutively

Chipdoc (new guy) here with a question. Using Audacity 2.1.2 exe installer and Windows 7 64 bit.

I have many hours of Christmas music…some 10 cassette tapes and some 10 commercial CD’s…that I want to put on a 32 GB SD card and play continuously straight through. Think a big long family Christmas reunion background music project. My plan is to record onto the SD card using a Zoom H4n recorder (line in, not mics) which is capable of recording the audio in WAV 44.1kHz 16 bit or MP3 and thence to Audacity to label the individual song tracks. I may then put some of it on CD’s. My plan is to record onto the SD card initially in WAV 44.1 / 16 in one long continuous file to best do the track labeling work while preserving continuing play beginning to end, then export final product from Audacity as an MP3 file to save space. I have never done this before, so this is just my best guess. Will this work? Is there a better way? Would it be better to do the initial recording in MP3 prior to Audacity? Helpful comments/criticism please.

Do you also have a large hard drive? If so, make your original copies in WAV (or FLAC) format, then if you need MP3 format for the final product, copy the WAV files to MP3. The “WAV” originals are your backup. Copying tapes takes a lot of time, so you will only want to do it once, so ensure that first digital version is as good as possible and not in a lossy format.

For the CDs, “Rip” them rather than record them. “Ripping” is “digital extraction” of the audio from the CD. There are several free programs available that can do this. It’s better quality than recording because it is a direct digital copy, and it’s much quicker (unless the CDs are badly scratched, in which case they will probably be useless anyway). When I was on Windows I used a program called CDex for ripping.