Record only one track and not have the other track included

Using Latest version of Audacity, and every time I create a new track, everything is included when I record with a new track.

Any suggestions to have only one track, yet hear the other tracks for reference?

The number of channels for the created track must match the number of channels for the sound settings. Then the recording will take place on the track you created and no new track will be created