Raising The Echo Of Fireworks

Hello,

I’ve been using Audacity for over two years now, but it becomes a pain in the ass. My goal is to capture fireworks displays on my camcorder and record the audio separately for higher quality sound. I have a Tascam DR-05 that I use to record audio. But there is a problem. The ‘bang’ from the fireworks is captured great, but the volume of the echo is very low. If I make my Tascam more sensitive, the bang is going to crack and the echo isn’t much improved. So that isn’t the key to success…

For solo bangs (salute shells) I’ve used Audacity to crank up the echo with the amplify or normalize option. Alright for 1 shell, but for a whole show with hundreds of shells…it’s just too much work.

So here is my question:
Is there a way to automatically raise the audio of the echo? In the image included the green parts.
aud.jpg
Image of a small piece of audio from a fireworks display at Malta

Setup:
Tascam DR-05
Windows 10
Audacity 2.1.0

Hope you guys can help me out on this one!

We’re sorry about your pain.

You could probably use either Effect > Compressor or Effect > Limiter. Both of them reduce loud sounds in favor of quieter ones.

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/compressor.html

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/limiter.html

Koz

Both of those tools add beneficial or desirable distortion and once you close Audacity, there is no UNDO like there is with Amplify and Normalize. Save Raw performance backup files in case you change your mind or make a mistake.

Koz

If the recording is stereo, the echo will be louder on a version where you remove the center of the stereo-image.
You can get a free plugin to do that here … Antress Modern Splitter , ( select “side” to remove centre ).
My suggestion, make an in-sync duplicate [Ctrl+D]of your firework track , remove its center, (so just side), then mix that with the original for more 3D echo-iness.