Problems syncing to Dropbox with Audacity 3.2.5

Greetings!

I’m having problems syncing Audacity files to Dropbox. This started maybe six weeks ago. I’ve been syncing Audacity files to Dropbox for over three years with no problems.

My specs:

• Mac OS: Ventura 13.2.1
  • Audacity: 3.2.5
  • Dropbox: v171.4.6182 … this is Dropbox’s Mac OS desktop software
  • Mac: iMac M1 desktop

The issue: Audacity files no longer sync to Dropbox using the Mac OS desktop app. This app creates a folder on my computer that syncs with Dropbox. I work out of this folder when editing Audacity. I share these Audacity files with a colleague (we do a podcast).

How it worked in the past: As I edited my Audacity file, Audacity would save each change automatically and Dropbox would sync the updated file automatically. I would look at the Dropbox icon at the top of my screen and see the little wheel spin on it as it synced the updated file. After a couple of minutes, the sync was done. We had no problems syncing this way and Dropbox never missed a change in my Audacity file.

What happens now: I still edit my Audacity file out of the Dropbox folder on my iMac. When I first create my Audacity project file, it will sync to Dropbox. But after that, the file stops syncing. Other types of files (Word, iMovie, Photoshop) sync fine even when I edit them in the Dropbox folder on my iMac. But Audacity no longer updates.

When I am first working with a new Audacity file, it will sync an updated project file once or twice when I close the project file. After that … zip. It won’t work. I can sync my Audacity files through the Dropbox website. This works but it’s clunky and not as sweet as previously.

Question: Anyone else having this issue? I worked with Dropbox support. They asked tons of questions, wanted screenshots and a bunch of other stuff but, so far, they haven’t come up with a fix.

Thank you for your help!

Did the onset of this issue coincide with a macOS update?