Please Help with Click Track

Hello All,

I am new to Audacity. I’ve been having trouble muting the click track during play back. Right now I’m using an SPD SX through USB to record beats. I’ll start by generating a click track. However, when I mute or delete the click track later on, I can still hear it during play back.

What must I do to effectively mute the click track or remove it altogether after finishing a beat?

Thanks

What must I do to effectively mute the click track or remove it altogether after finishing a beat?

I had a good answer already worked up and then I looked up what an SPD SX was. It’s not a hardware device, is it? It’s a software package.

Well shucks.

Maybe you don’t get there from here, to quote the very old joke. Recording What’s Playing On The Computer is what’s giving you your doubly recorded click track, but you are required to have that running in order to record your drum synth.

Ummmm…

I’m pretty sure you can’t do that, someone will correct me. There’s no way to split the two systems.

On this computer you’re playing back your click track so you can keep good time…and on the other computer, you’re recording the synth performance.

I’m not a Windows elf, but I think it’s still true you can’t manage two different, split sound playbacks at once. Others may be along.

Koz

In Audacity’s Device Toolbar, are you recording with stereo mix (which can only record playback from the built-in sound device) or from WASAPI loopback?

If recording with stereo mix then if you can play the click track to a different sound device than the built-in sound device, such as a USB sound card, and can listen to that while playing the synth to the built-in sound device then it might work. Or use two computers.

Or buy a physical metronome.

Gale

Hey Guys,

Thanks for your hasty replies! I think I may have discovered a solution.