"Open With Audacity" won't actually open a sound file.

I’m using Audacity 2.3.3 on a Mac running Catalina 10.15.2 and have been having a strange problem. At some point recently (probably after upgrading to Catalina) I noticed I can no longer right-click on a sound file and open it with Audacity. Or, for that matter, open ANY sound file with audacity, even project files, using the OS menus.

If I open Audacity and from within the program try to open the sound file, it works fine. But that’s kind of inconvenient since I’ve been doing it the other way for 10 years.

Something seems amiss. To try and fix it, I’ve done a complete uninstall of Audacity (including removing caches and other config files) and then restarting the Mac and reinstalling the latest version of Audacity. But same results - can’t open with Audacity through the Mac context menu in Finder.

I’ve verified the “open with” menu is pointed to the correct version of Audacity in the Applications folder.

I don’t get an error. For that matter, it doesn’t seem like anything is happening. But if I open the file through the Audacity > File > Open approach it works fine.

That’s probably another symptom of the new border fences that Apple is busy erecting. (Basically they’d prefer all apps run on Macs to come from the Apple Store). Apple now require an app to be “notarized” - i.e. officially approved by them before that app can be granted permission to use system resources. Currently it is necessary to launch Audacity via a “proxy” (such as the Terminal) so that it can “inherit” permissions granted to the proxy, but it is not possible to grant permissions (such as permission to access files) directly to Audacity until a “notarized” version of Audacity becomes available.

Hopefully the next Audacity release (due around the end of Q1 2020) will be able to jump through Apple’s hoops and over Apple’s hurdles so as to be properly supported by Catalina.