Old Audacity - revisited

Hi my talented and understanding listmates…

I’ve edited tons of audio with Audacity and shard what a great tool it is with so many.

Imagine if you will my stunning experience that what used to work in version 3 doesn’t seem to anymore. I used to be able to press the Spacebar and star an audio and then press that spacebar again and it would stop there. I then would choose Select > Region > Start r Cursor and press the Delete key to delete that portion.

Now if I press the space bar it just returns to the start of the audio - it doesn’t stop where I want.

I also get this | perpendicular line above the audio so as I used to just drag the cursor back I could delete that area. No more.

I can’t press Esc or Ctrl + Z to go back to where I started.

I could press Ctrl + and get the precise area I needed to delete to start with but it’s not working.
I then installed the new 4.0 and that was even more cryptic.

Sorry for having to revisit this as AI had wrong answers.

Thank you!

You’re talking about Audacity 4, right? Things work differently there. Go to the Audacity 4 section of this forum to read all about it.

In the meantime just go back to Audacity 3.7.9.

No, I have Audacity 3.7.1.

But, it’s been years since I’ve edited and it doesn’t seem to work like it used to.

Version 4 looks like something I’ll pass on for right now.

Thanks.

Right. I’ll never understand why a software company publishes an incomplete, non-functional new version. They (should) know what abilities the old version had and at least implement them before they release the new version. As it is now, Audacity 4 is something a real developer would not even call a “beta” version…

4 Likes

Yes, things have changed over the years.

That’s the way Audacity has always worked, as far as I recall. Use the “X” key to “Stop and set cursor”.

That’s probably the loop bar. Just drag in audio and you’ll be fine.

Have a look at the latest manual here: Audacity Manual

None of what you described has been the stock out of box experience for me. You could set all that up again in the keyboard shortcuts section of the preferences. Likely you had custom shortcuts set before.

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.