new user HELP!!!

i’ve never used Audacity before and just finished downloading it on my windows 10 laptop. im wanting to use audacity to edit audio that i have on a Sony Digital Voice Recorder that has a USB cable and a micro SD card along with audio from videos i have on my iphone. i need to remove background noise like an air conditioner running or a TV playing in the background and make the enhance the voices from different people so you can actually hear them clearly. i was told from someone who uses Audacity frequently that in order to edit the audio from my iphone videos, i would have to use an app that extracts audio from video in order to import them. so i installed the app and have all the audio extracted and converted them to aiff files. these aiff audio files are now stored in google drive.

if anyone has any tips or trick or advise on what i’ve mentioned about then i please let me know. if there is anything important that a first time user like myself might need to know about i would also love to here it. any help would be greatly appreciated!

i need to remove background noise like an air conditioner running or a TV playing in the background and make the enhance the voices from different people so you can actually hear them clearly.

Audacity can remove minor, quiet, constant background noises, but not noises the same volume or louder than the voice. It can’t do the other two at all.

TV in the background is one of the problems that can kill a show.

We can’t take apart a performance into individual actors or instruments and that’s what you need to do to amplify or process one separate from the others.

While it seems like sound capture should be easy, it’s actually much more difficult than aiming a camera. There is no “zoom microphone” so you have to get a microphone close to the performer and there are not a lot of options.