New crackling on playback (??) :-(

Hi,
Spec. used for recording:
MacOS12.6; Audacity 3.2.1; MacBook Air2020; 1.1 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5; Firefox Browser 106.0.3.

I’m recording internet radio via Internet browser + Audacity, then exporting to save as MP3 file. I’ve done this before months ago and don’t seem to remember having any problems. The audio sounds fine online when recording but on playback there are crackling noises which occur at different places in the recording each time I play back the audio. I’ve read in forums that the recording may be fine but it may be something to do with the playback settings in Audacity and the limitations of my audio card? I’m unsure of what settings to change and what impacts they will have - I’m no expert Audacity user with in-depth knowledge, I simply use it to record online stuff for future reference. Hoping you can help with a quick simple fix (obvious to you folks probably) :smiley:
I’m hoping all the recordings I’ve done are OK and that it’s just a playback issue ??

I tried playing an older MP3 file (I’d recorded through Audacity and exported as an MP3 file), through VLC MediaPlayer. It played fine. I then tried the same file in Audacity and it would hardly play - it was skipping, crackling and not getting past a certain point. This is a problem as I use Audacity to edit tracks but if it isn’t playing correctly then I can’t scan, cut, edit.
Hoping you can help - thank you !

Other info’ that may be of use:
recording using Soundflower, sampling 44100Hz 32bit-float, real time conversion Medium Quality, high quality conversion Best Quality (slowest), latency buffer length 100 ms compensation -130ms, playback - vari-speed play and always scrub underpinned both selected (I don’t know what that means :slight_smile: )

A couple of things to try:

1. Try changing the project rate to 48000.
  2. Try closing your browser
  3. Try swapping USB ports.

Hi,