Musings and questions on cross channel bleed removal

While being into music (both playing and listening) and audio (both high-end consumer and pro), for quite some time… I’m fairly new to mastering/processing/mixing.

At this time, I’m in the middle of starting up a band. We’re still finding/replacing personel, and developing a playlist etc.

I’ve been recording our practices using an M-Audio 8 analog input card, and doing a quick and dirty mixdown so that we can hear what we sound like.

Unlike mastering… I’m not trying to improve the sound of the music or mask any flaws… I want us to hear every flaw.

However… at some point in time I’m going to want to mix a demo CD… and I’ve become fascinated with the mastering process.

Not having near-field monitors (yet)… and due to the fact that my fastest least burdoned computer is the one I just built in my music room to record with… I was doing my quick and dirty mix listening to my 15" PA Speakers. (lots of bass)

I was playing with the gain of my Bass track, and realized that even when turned down all the way, I could still hear the Bass really well… bleeding thru the drum mics, (two medium diaphram overhead condenser and a dynamic on the kick drum mixed pre-computer down to stereo) and the 4 vocal mics.

While able to turn the Bass track gain down to a proper mix level… I realized that stereo placement in the mix would be very muddy… with significant bass coming through all these other tracks.

I found a portion of the project, where we almost everyone was taking a brief break, but I was playing a bass riff… then put my bass down, where it started feeding back prior to me hitting the off switch on my amp.

I could see the Bass signal on various other tracks… most prominently on one of the drum channels (I later found that the drummer had inadvertantly moved them, so that the front of the mic was facing forward rather than down)