Music Doesn't play in CD Player

Hi Folks,
I’m a newbie and 70 years old so bare with me. I couldn’t find anything in FAQ so. I’ve been transferring my old tape cassettes into digital format in the hope that I could put my music onto CDs. I’ve managed to make both MP3 (which works good on a USB stick) and Wav formats but when I copied the WAV to a CD disc the disc doesn’t play any sound in the CD player. The player says it plays MP3 which format I also tried but no joy. What am I doing wrong?
Kind Regards
Dave (In Germany)

If I understood well your explanation, you should create an “audio cd” because by just copying the wav files will create a “data cd”, it’s like you copy documents on a cd disk but the music player doesn’t know what to do with it.
What burning program did you use?

If I understood well your explanation, you should create an “audio cd” because by just copying the wav files will create a “data cd”, it’s like you copy documents on a cd disk but the music player doesn’t know what to do with it.

As Audino stated, you have to use a CD burning program to move the Music files over to a CD. There are several great program out there that does that. I am also kinda new to this form so don’t know if i can actuall suggest what programs to use so will not at this time. but i use one that i got for free off of the internet. I just google’d FREE CD BURNING PROGRAMS and D/L’ed one. it works great. with that propgram i have over 14 hours on one CD and still not full. Hope this helps, Marty

Also as a afterthought, Older and some newer CD players will not play music recorded on a DVD. It has to be recorded on a CD. Marty

You can do it on a BluRay, too, but neither of those will play in your car – or you mum’s music player.

A Music CD is a special format and you need a Music CD Authoring Program to get there. iTunes will do this on both Windows and Mac. Windows Media Player can do it, too, at least the more modern ones. Koz