Measure the volume of the partials

Greetings!

I want to create a plugin to give the volume/intensity (dB) of the fundamental and 5 next partials of a sound sample (violin string being plucked).

The way I see it, I should
0. Get the spectrum (sample from the actual sound sample below)

1. Find the pitch (fundamental) and measure the dB
  2. Find other peaks in the spectrum
  3. Estimate which of theses peaks correspond to partials of the pitch (found in step 1) and measure their dB

For step 1, I could find this pitch detection plug-in for Nyquist.

For the step 2, I could see that Audacity’s Analyse > Plot Spectrum does this, it can find the peaks when I move the mouse over the plot area.

I thought of peaking at how it did that, but couldn’t find the code inside /usr/share/audacity/. I guess it is not a plugin?

Could somebody point me in the direction of a start to get the spectrum and then find the peaks and dB?

I have some experience on Elisp, but none on Audacity plugins.

Thanks in advance!

Audacity’s frequency-analysis is an average over the interval selected.
So can give a misleading impression of what’s actually happening

In reality the ratios of the harmonics change rapidly during the ~0.5s decay of the pluck …

pluck.gif
https://www.voxengo.com/product/span/

e.g. at some time the fundamental is the loudest, at other times the first harmonic is the loudest.

What do you intend to do with that data?

Thanks for pointing that out, and for the software show!
I’ll definitely have that in mind after I get it running!

A prototype to test an idea.
On the violin, if you move some parts for tiny amounts, the sound changes relatively drastically.
I want to see if the partials relative intensities is a good indicator to inform these parts movements and repairs for luthiers or violinists that venture that (possibly dangerous) path of messing around with their instruments’parts.