Mathematics of the "Click removal" effect

The click removal effect (on the Effects drop-down menu Audacity 3.4.2) has a dialogue box with 2 parameters:
Threshold : possible values between 0 and 900
Max spike width: possible values between 0 and 40.

Now, I’m a physicist, and was always told never to use numbers without units (assuming there is a unit for what you’re trying to describe). At the moment I can’t work out what the units of “Threshold” and “Max spike width” might be.

Does anyone know?

Do we know who developed the click removal algorithm?

Max spike width could be… milliseconds?

I’m not just asking this to be awkward; at the moment, using the click removal effect is completely trial and error. You start with the default values then, if those don’t work, you start cranking those two sliders up and down, blindly, hoping you’ll hit upon a magic combination that will remove one or more clicks from audio.

I can zoom in on an offending click (e.g. from a small scratch in a vinyl record I’m ripping) and get precise duration of the click, its height in absolute dB - and I could even calculate dB of the click relative to the surrounding non-click audio if that was useful. But without knowing what those numbers mean, it’s a fruitless task doing that.

Any thoughts? 0 to 900 and 0 to 40 seem such weird scales!

Thanks

I don’t know, but they are probably parameters in an algorithm and they may not have traditional units. They may affect more than one variable.

The width could be the sample count but I doubt it because then the time-width would vary with sample rate. Maybe it is milliseconds???

The threshold is NOT the amplitude because the audio data is in floating-point where the values are normally between zero and +/- 1.

…Audacity is open source if you know any programming and you want to dig-into the code! :wink:

From the source code:

/**********************************************************************

Audacity: A Digital Audio Editor