I was recording in Audacity. I edited the audio how I like. I then clicked in the middle of the project (BTW It was all highlighted) I thought it would export the whole project but it only exported to where I clicked. Is there any way to get my project file back? I didn’t save it I always just export and it’s fine. I tried the Recovery Utility and looked through my audacity_temp folder but nothing was there. I thought Audacity autosaved? Please help I have version 2.0.5 and have Windows 7 64-bit.
I thought Audacity autosaved?
It does. But if you close Audacity and open it up again, it clears the old show getting ready for the new production.
So unless the other elves have any ideas, what you exported or saved is what you have.
We had another recent post similar to this. The producer was editing the work after the actors went home. The computer went into the mud and took the show with it. No backup files.
When you get to the end of a sound capture or recording, immediately Export as a WAV and save the Project. Edit the Project with the idea that if something goes terribly wrong, you can go find the WAV file and rescue the show from that. DO NOT save or export work with the same filename as the original. That will destroy your show backup.
After you post your work or deliver to the client, then you can go through and erase everything if you feel like it. I never feel like it. I have original captures from a year ago.
“Koz? Remember that voice capture you did for the TV commercial animation? Do you still have that?”
Yes. I do.
I’m guessing “no”, but there are holes in the storyline that don’t add up…
If you single “left clicked” on an audio track, then the track audio will not be highlighted. If this is relevant, where exactly did you click?
not just from clicking in the middle of the project. You need to “Export audio”, or “Export Selected Audio”, or “Export Multiple” in order to export. Each will export something, but they are all different.
The most likely explanation would seem to be that you inadvertently selected half of the audio in the project, and then exported the selected audio, and then closed the project after dismissing the warning that the project had not been saved. If that is the case, then the project cannot be recovered.
Yes, it has an autosave mechanism to provide some protection against crashes or other unforeseen occurrences such as power failure, but if you close Audacity and chose to not save the project, and cancel the warning that the project has not been saved, then Audacity assumes that you don’t want to save the project. Audacity then tidies up after itself by deleting the temporary files, undo history and autosave files.
but if you close Audacity and chose to not save the project, and cancel the warning that the project has not been saved, then Audacity assumes that you don’t want to save the project.
I was close.
I appreciate all the help. I will definitely save my work from now on.