Lecture recording where people are hard to hear and noises are abundant - beginner question

Being unable to attend a few lectures at my university, I asked my friend to record them with his phone. The lecturer and the students asking questions are often very hard to hear - they’re speaking from everywhere in the room and the lecturer doesn’t speak very loudly. There’s a lot of noise - my friend’s laptop fan (which he often placed next to the phone recording this), the phone hitting things and more.

Although this is my first time editing audio, I found out about the vocal isolation and the noise reduction features, which are very useful sometimes.

The main issue is, after noise reduction the human vocals’ volume is way too low, so I can’t hear anything if I don’t increase the gain to like +35dB. Which REALLY hurts my ears when some leftover noises peak. But worse, I still can’t always hear the vocals because of the noise - doesn’t matter what I do first: isolate vocals or reduce noises.

What do I need to know about optimizing vocal isolation and noise reduction? And how would you prevent sudden peaks in volume from making you deaf?

P.S. I’m using version 2.3.0.

Unfortunately, the options for improving very noisy recordings are quite limited (this is why professionals use expensive microphones close to the person speaking, and do everything in their power to minimise background noise).

You can safely cut out very low and very high frequencies using the Equalization effect (set the curve to a low level below 150 Hz, flat from 150 to 7000 Hz, and low above 7000 Hz).

There’s a “Pop Mute” Nyquist plug-in that can automatically reduce loud noises (not only “pops”, any noise that is louder than the “Threshold”) Missing features - Audacity Support
Installation instructions are here: https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/installing_effect_generator_and_analyzer_plug_ins_on_windows.html#nyquist_install

expensive microphones close to the person speaking