I have several tracks, each with content at different locations along the podcast timeline. I want to insert new content into all tracks at the same timeline position, thus shifting the existing content to accommodate the insertion. The process was (in release 3.1.3) to click on the insertion point on one track, then drag downward to the include the other tracks, then insert the content.
This does not work in release 3.7.8. I can follow this process to DELETE content on the timeline on multiple tracks, but not to INSERT.
Anyone else having this problem? Anyone have a workaround soukltion, or can tell me what I’m doing wrong?
Thanks.
What do you mean by “insert”? Are you pasting audio into a track?
Are you pasting identical content into multiple tracks at the same position, or are you pasting audio copied from multiple tracks into the same number of multiple tracks?
What you describe works for me on 3.7.8. I have 4 mono tracks with audio staring at different positions. I copy some audio, click where I want to paste it (into track 1) then drag down through all the tracks and paste. The audio clip is pasted into track 1 and all the other tracks move to remain in sync.
Thank you for your reply. You actually described the action better than I did. As you stated: I copy some audio, click where I want to paste it (into track 1) then drag down through all the tracks and paste…
In my case, it pastes my insert audio into track one perfectly and the tyrack shifts as expected. However, only for track one. The insertion is not pasted into the remaining tracks that I selected (only the first track) and, only track one is shifted. The other tracks remain unaffected. this was using the latest version (3.7.8, both 32 bit and 64 bit versions.)
I’m using a desktop system running windows 10 (if that makes the difference.) This works perfectly fine in release 3.1.3 - all tracks receive the insert and all tracks shift as expected. I dumped release 3.7.8 and fell back to 3.1.3 to regain the convenience and usability of the program.
If this can be repaired it would be greatly appreciated. I did like some of the new design offered in 3.7.8 (not all, but a number of things) and I would like to try a version where it functions with both stability and feature carry over.
On another note, I do not appreciate that it is not backward compatible within the same release 3 branch. It should be. I’m referring to file usage. Once I open a file created in 3.1.3 it is converted to a new format usable only with the recent release 3 version, making the file useless for opening with all release 3 versions. That has never made any sense to me. Release 2 and earlier I can understand, there was a major redesign with release 3. I wouldn’t be surprised if release 4 had the same impact issue, but it seems out of place within the same branch of the code.
Again, thank you for your insight. I will continue with 3.1.3 until a better offering is available.
Oh, and I forgot to mention that I did check my preferences to be sure the the box is checked for “editing a clip can move other clips”
As I said in my first post, this works for me. I just now double-checked.
I can only suggest resetting Audacity’s preferences, after you have re-installed 3.7.8.