Editing mouth noise and breaths- help for a beginner

I am new to audiobook production, and feel like the learning curve is VERY steep. I have dived headfirst and am trying to get my first book produced. I’m mostly using the punch and roll method, and am very happy with those results, however I’m finding I need to remove a lot of breaths, and occasionally some mouth noise, although I’m much better at avoiding that than BREATHING.
I am using the punch copy/paste plugin and I’ve found its easy to use however I can hear the transition when it goes to my room tone, and back to the original recording. Its not the actual room tone that I’m hearing, but almost a click at the transition points. Is there a way to eliminate this? Pretend you are talking to someone who barely knows how to use audacity (because you are).
Thanks!
I am using Mac OSX and a Rode NT-1 microphone with the Rode AI-1 pre-amp.

Some amount of breathing is normal, and very common in commercial audiobooks.
If you think your breath sounds are excessive, please post a short sample so we can hear how bad the problem is (if bad at all).
See: https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/how-to-post-an-audio-sample/29851/1

That suggests that your room tone is not constant. The room tone must be constant and low level before any processing.

You may be trying to repair mouth noises too precisely, and leaving a little noise at the ends of the repair. Try allowing a little more space around the noises that you are trying to correct. Note that if the recording is too “perfect” (no breathing and no indication that you are human), the result will be rather unsettling to listen to. No-one wants to listen to a robot for long. The recording should sound natural.

I can hear the transition when it goes to my room tone, and back to the original recording.

That’s not normal. Can you identify the noise? Is this your refrigerator going on and off? Is it traffic noises?