editing an .aup file VS .mp3

This may sound like a silly question, so please forgive me I’m fairly new at using the Audacity program. I opened an mp3 file to edit and when I completed what I had to do (normalize) and when I went to close it, I said it would save as an aup file, or the option to export to mp3.

My question(s) is/are, does the exported aup edited file, to mp3 file, cause any unnecessary conversion issues or problems compromising the quality etc. and if so, secondly can the mp3 file be opened as an mp3 file avoiding any potential issues or problems exporting aup to mp3?

So far my experience with this program has been great! It’s an awesome program and hard to believe it’s FREE!!!

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

Not a silly question :wink:

Splitting this question into three:

1. does the exported aup edited file…
    The “.aup” file is only one part of an Audacity project.
    An audacity project has 2 parts. There is a “project file” (the .aup file) and there is the audio data. The audio data is often in a folder that has “_data” at the end of the folder name. There may also be “dependencies”. Please see here for full details: Audacity Manual

2. does the exported “Audacity Project”, to mp3 file, cause conversion issues or problems compromising the quality.
    Yes there will be some loss of sound quality whenever you export to MP3. This is unavoidable because MP3 is a “lossy” format, but the loss of quality can be minimised by using high bit rate settings for the MP3.

3. Are these losses “unnecessary”.
    This is a matter of perspective. Audacity always works on uncompressed audio data. There are other programs (such as MP3Split) that are capable of basic editing of MP3s without decoding/re-encoding, but for the extensive editing and processing that is available with Audacity it is necessary for MP3s to be decoded first.
    Re-encoding issues can be avoided by using a lossless format such as WAV rather than MP3.