Distortion on the audio even from lower input

Hey I’m pretty new to recording equipment and I was hoping to make a good quality recording within my budget. So far, I spent about $40 to get a USB microphone, the Samson Go Mic (after a friend recommended it and after reading many reviews on it). My problem is that when I’m recording the piano (yes the piano is pretty much out of tune but that’s aside the point :stuck_out_tongue: ) and the problem I’m getting is that I’m having distortions in my audio and this is even putting the microphone farther away from the source (piano) and using the -10dB setting. I tried Cardioid and Omni but those produce WAY more distortion that usual.

I have attached a sample sound file so that others could identify the problem. I’m aiming to get a clean sound while picking up all the dynamics and voices in the piano. My guess is that the culprit lies in the microphone not being able to withstand the loudness of the piano (playing too loud) but I shouldn’t have diminish the overall quality of my recordings just to avoid distortion (thinks of Schubert’s Waltz in A minor.).

I hope to resolve technical problems before I go to a recital hall to record on a grand piano. The piano I’m recording on is an upright piano I have at home and I did it just to test the audio quality of my new USB mic.

The levels look OK. But, I cant’ listen right now, 'cause I’m at work.

Check [u]Windows “Enhancements”[/u] to make sure that Windows isn’t screwing-up the sound.

Normally… When everything is working properly… Audacity captures the “pure” digital data coming in over the USB bus, so normally the only thing that matters is the sound hitting the microphone and the quality of the microphone and it’s built-in circuits. (Audacity itself can’t change the sound during recording but Windows can.)