connection problems with turntable and phono pre-amp

This may be a very basic question, but this is my first time trying to digitize records. I have a Pyle Pro PADRI3 pre-amp connected with RCA cables to a Fisher MT-M44 turntable (ie. an old one, from the 70s I think), and the pre-amp connected to my 2007 Macbook running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 via USB. I think everything is connected correctly, but the problem is I don’t appear to have any input sound. When I set an album playing and hit “record,” there’s no sound and I get a flat blue line in Audacity’s display (by the way, I’m using version 1.3.14). And I do have Audacity’s input set to my USB device, so that’s not it. Does anyone have an idea of what could be going wrong?

Thanks!

P.S. I’ve looked at Audacity’s manuals/tutorials and have also browsed extensively through forum posts, but couldn’t find anything

There is some troubleshooting to do. The Pyle has a headphone connection. Try that.

I’m just reading this again. Are you sure the RCA connections are to plug something in and not another way to get audio out? Real phono preamps have three connections, not two. RCA Left, RCA Right and the shield/ground/earth connection.

Turntables hum without that third wire.

Koz

Update! Update!

The Pyle appears to have a Stereo Line-In connection. That’s to connect your tape machine, cassette machine, tuner or iPod to your system. Not another turntable. If you do get any audio out of what you have, it’s likely to be very low and sound squeaky.

The audio out of a classic turntable isn’t “real” sound until it’s gone through a preamp. Vinyl sound is intentionally distorted.

Koz