Cannot record second track

I have been using audacity for about 2 years now.
I haven’t recorded for a while but the setup is same as when it used to work.
The issue is, after I record the first track, I cannot record the second track.
It stops almost instantly. Recorded legnth tells me it is about 11ms.
My setup is dynabook gx83 (core i5 8th gen so should be no problem), M-Track Duo from M-Audio, with a AT2020 mic and headphones attatched to the interface.

I have tried rebooting, changing sample rate to both 48000 and 44100.
I downgraded to 2.4.2 but this didn’t work either.
This topic seems to have the same issue

Any help will be appreciated.

A lot of users have reported difficulties with these devices. Search the forum for M-Track or M-Audio.

You may be on to something here. Be sure to change not only Audacity’s Project Sample Rate, but the rate for both Playback and Recording Device in the Windows Sound Control Panel:

[Windows-Key]-R, “mmsys.cpl”

Then select your Playback Device:

Properites > Advanced Tab > Default Format

Repeat for both Recording and Playback Devices. If 48000 doesn’t work, try 44100.

Thanks for the response!
I retried on changing the sample rate to both frequencies in 32bit, both on audacity and windows settings.
Doesn’t seem to work. Attempt on version 2.4.2.

Will look into other entries on the forum.

Now have a wierd symptom.
I have both audacity and windows settings set to 44100 Hz 32bit. All other devices disabled in windows sound settings.
After I try recording on Audcity, first track records fine and attempting on the second track gives me the error “Error opening recording device. Error code: -9997 Invalid sample rate.”
After that when I look into the speakers settings in windows, the sample rate is switched to 48000Hz 32bit.
Seems like Audacity is rewritting the windows settings, but could this happen?