Audio marking????

Preamble: I’m ancient. I’m not technically competent. Not incompetent, but my skills are limited to FMPro and Excel. Now I want to use Audacity to record audio books. I have a grandson on the spectrum (Autism). He’s pretty “high up” on the Autism scale. He has an unbelievable memory. But he does much better with aural learning. I intend to read and record his text books. (I’ve checked. These are not available already recorded.) I have a Samson G Track USB mic. My Mac OS is 10.13.6. My grandson also uses a MAC. Which one I don’t know, but I can guarantee it’s at least as new or newer than mine.

What I want to do is to save the recording in the best file format for him to use. I intend to put the recorded files on a thumb drive and give it to him. As I read his text books, I will identify the page number and paragraph. I intend to make each chapter a discrete file. Some chapters (archeology & paleontology) can be quite long. I’m wondering if there is someway to mark the audio sections, enabling him to find or fast forward to that location. Think of a Video DVD where you can fast forward to a particular section.

So, if this or something like it is possible, I would love to know. Also I’d appreciate suggestions as to saving the recordings in the best file format for him. You can post suggestions here and/or email me (Moderator note: email address removed for user SPAM protection).

Thank you.

Dennis

For spoken word the MP3 file format will be more than adequate. Your grandson could import them into iTunes to play them.

Audacity has no provision to provide “chapter markers” within an audio file (similar to chapters on a DVD).