Appropriate effects for .wav / need help

Hi everybody,

I am an Audacity newbie and therefore I fail to remove the disturbing frequency from the .wav-file uploaded with this post.
I’ve marked position 0.0 to 0.5 to find out the frequency of the disturbing sound and then I used the “High Pass Filter” with >1000 Hz, but I don’t get the expected result.

Can somebody please listen to the file (don’t worry - it’s only 4 seconds long :smiley: ) and tell me how to “fix” that file, i.e. just getting the voice?

Thank you very much!

Regards

Notch filter (available in Audacity 1.3.13)
Run it twice, the first time with frequency set at 1000 Hz, the second time set at 150 Hz.
Higher Q values will remove less of the voice sound but will leave a longer “blip” at the start.

Hi Steve,

thank you very much for the quick reply.
Unfortunately, we are solely allowed to use the following functions (and/or):

• Plot Spectrum
  • High Pass Filter
  • Low Pass Filter
  • Equalization

These restrictions makes “cleaning” of the file more difficult - at least from my point of view. Any ideas?

I forgot to mention that I am running version 1.3.13

Reagards

Are you asking us to do your homework? :smiley:

You can make a notch filter using the Equalization effect. You may need to check the results against the spectrum plot to get the notches in just the right place, but something like this will work: (see here for an explanation of the settings http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/Equalization )

I would never do that - honestly: let’s call it an act of desperation, because I am sitting here already some hours without results. :wink:

I’ll make myself familiar with the manual, but before I have two question:

• How did you get to that settings, I mean did you use Analyze → Plot Spectrum?
  • Is there an alternative way to solve that exercise, maybe more easier?

Thank you very much!
Regards