Adding a kazoo effect

Audacity 2.0.2, Windows 7x64

This might seem like a strange request, but I teach English as a second language and one of the best methods to teach rhythm and intonation is to hum the words through a kazoo. This allows the student to hear the pattern without being distracted by the words. I was thinking that if I could distort a speech recording in a similar pattern, it would be a great help to the students as they could take the recording home and practice.

Since I am a complete beginner with Audacity, I would greatly appreciate any help I could get in how to set an effect like this.

Thanks

I can’t think of a way to do that. Anything that will eliminate the pronunciation of the words enough to obliterate them will also take out the tonal variations you want to preserve. You can trash human speech remarkably and still be able to understand it – see cellphone calls.

I’m not completely clear on who is going to do the kazooing you or the students. Or both.

Koz

You did give me a terrific idea. People are always posting about applying the “announcer filter” and make them into a famous announcer/presenter. Of course, there is no such thing, but we always get stuck on why. How do you explain vocal acting, interpretation, and expression.

With a kazoo.

Let me work on this.

Koz

As a side note, did you see the movie “Despicable me?” The little yellow minion characters are famous for not using any known language, certainly not English, but they have zero trouble telegraphing their meaning with whatever sounds they make. That’s a cousin to what you’re doing, right? Koz

Would that work?

http://www.kozco.com/tech/clips/kazoo-voice.wav

That’s an existing voice I had for another project.

Effect > Low Pass Filter, 36dB, 0.7071, 300Hz
Effect > Amplify > OK
Effect > Leveler, Heaviest, -70dB > OK
Effect > Leveler, Heaviest, -70dB > OK