Changing timbre of sound

I’m new to this and not entirely sure how to describe what it is I want to do, or if there’s a feature in Audacity that would be applicable…

Basically I’m trying to make piano backing tracks and was wondering if it was possible to change the sound so it was both less dry, and so that the dynamic range isn’t as expansive i.e. loud is slightly less loud, and soft is less soft; the range is more compressed.

https://vocaroo.com/i/s0fUvebzLE9N ← The original recording.

https://vocaroo.com/i/s18gRlEC9K0M ← The recording with pre-filter applied, which makes it more mellow and less harsh, but it still sounds quite dry to me as opposed to the timbre of the sound in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITjoWz7Unuo

Basically I’m trying to make piano backing tracks and was wondering if it was possible to change the sound so it was both less dry

I assume you are talking about reverberation (the reflections and short echos that aren’t heard as distinct echos) that you hear in a concert hall?

Audacity has a Reverb effect. Most professional recordings are done in “dead” (sound absorbing) studios with artificial reverb added later. (Solo piano might be an exception and it might often be recorded in a “good room” with careful microphone placement to pick-up the right balance of direct sound and natural reverb.)

You’re the producer and you’re in charge, but in general I’d recommend you “take it easy” because the (IMO) amount of reverb that sounds great in a big hall usually sounds unnatural in a living room. If you’ve ever made a “live” recording you’re probably noticed too much “room sound” when played-back. Sometimes you can get carried away, so it’s a good idea to come-back and listen the next day to make sure you haven’t over-done it.

and so that the dynamic range isn’t as expansive i.e. loud is slightly less loud, and soft is less soft; the range is more compressed.

There are also Compressor and Limiter effects.