How do get rid of the little scratching sound (volume)

Hi there,

I’m an audacity newbie and have just recorded an interview with the software. Most of it was great. However, there are bits when the volume (or “pitch” if that’s the right word) goes up a little, possibly when the speaker is emphasising something. Then there is a little scratching sort of noise for a millisecond (possibly indicating that the volume is too high or something).

How do I edit the audio to remove these bits? I’ve tried lowering the volume of the entire audio by clicking on the volume thing in the lefthand box of the soundtrack. That seems to help but it means lowering the volume of the entire track, which I don’t want to do.

It’s just those little moments when it goes up a bit and you get the little scratch noise.

Can anyone explain how to edit volume/sound so that those noises are gone?

Best

Adam

Effect > Limiter: Soft Limiter. But don’t expect miracles.

Before you apply the effect, do the blue waves go all the way up to 1 (100%) during the scratching and does the sound meter go up and turn red? Those are overload points.

When you record something, the digital system assigns numbers to the sound. If you go too loud, the digital system runs out of numbers and just starts making it up. Most times, there is no good quality voice during overload and there is no filter.

You can try Effect > Clip Fix. But that only works for very short sounds and it’s just guessing at it.

Overload or “clipping” is fatal. It’s one of the guaranteed ways to kill your show. #2.

The Four Horsemen of Audio Recording (reliable, time-tested ways to kill your show)
– 1. Echoes and room reverberation (Don’t record the show in your mum’s kitchen.)
– 2. Overload and Clipping (Sound that’s recorded too loud is permanently trashed.)
– 3. Compression Damage (Never do production in MP3.)
– 4. Background Sound (Don’t leave the TV on in the next room.)