WAV file rebuild - part fixed myself

Hi and thanks in advance. I’m a university tutor , using Windoes 10 and Audacity 3.0.4

As part of some work we were doing , I recorded a number of very long WAV files (still within the size limit). One of them came back without a header file . I tried to import the Raw data using Audacity and got the typical results of lots of white noise and not much else. Ive spent the week learning about header files, and Hex editors.

I took the details of a working WAV file from the same device. Heres the screen shot of the working file
capture1.JPG
I copied the header file details using the Hex editor into the non working file. I edited the file size in positions 4 -7 (in Hex, file size in bytes minus 8). I hope ive done that bit right. All the rows of zeros were in the working file header, so I didnt mess with them. Heres the screen shot

capture4.JPG

I have read that I also need to change the size of the subchunk (directly after the word “Data”), but am struggling to work out what I need to put there.

With the new header file as it now stands, the wav will play, and I can sort of hear the recording…but its behind a lot of “noise” and not descernable other than that it is voices. Speed seems about right. Ive read somewhere that there is an “offset” or something where Audacity (or any other player) is not “aligned” with the data part of the file, and so throws in the noise as its interpretation of the data.

I feel I am almost there recovering the work, but just need a bit of help to get over the finishing line. Many thanks if you are able to help. It’s much appreciated.

Your best option is to import the raw data and re-save the WAV. But you’re “guessing” some of the parameters wrong (probably/hopefully just the offset).

If the playing time is correct you know you’re “close” with the parameters.