Record Skype call directly with Audacity?

Hello to all. I am new to audacity (though getting ok with it) and new to podcasting. I am expanding my podcast to include remote interviews. I’ve looked into, and tried, many options but haven’t really settled on any that I’m crazy about. There is a lot of software out there that lets you record your call and it’s easy to upload it to Audacity, but the sound quality is always lacking and controlling the recording levels is never quite right. I’ve tired configuring with a digital recorder but this is proving a bit complex. So I am wondering about simply recording the call directly with Audacity.

I’ve done some research and tried to apply some of the ideas, but they don’t seem to work with my configuration - a straight ASPIRE laptop, Windows 10. I use a Samson and a Yeti for my mics and I’ve been trying configurations with them, but they aren’t quite working either.

So if someone has some ideas regarding the easiest possible way to do record the entire conversation with Audacity, or alternatively incorporate one of the mics into the mix, I’d be very interested. And I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Monte

By default, Windows can only record from one thing at a time and Audacity can’t get-around that. Pamela for Skype is popular for recording Skype.

There is a lot of software out there that lets you record your call and it’s easy to upload it to Audacity, but the sound quality is always lacking and controlling the recording levels is never quite right.

Unless something is “wrong” the software doesn’t affect the quality of the recording. The recording software simply captures the digital audio stream from the drivers and sends it to your hard drive. (Things can “go wrong” digitally, especially when multitasking such as running Skype… I think Pamela may have some special drivers and/or special-large buffers to eliminate/minimize glitches.)