get noise profile does not give any information

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
manit123
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:35 pm
Operating System: Please select

get noise profile does not give any information

Post by manit123 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:53 am

I am using audacity 2.1.3 on windows 10 64bit OS.

I recorded dialogue on my mobile in a silent room.
First minute had voice and second minute was silent.
I followed http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/noise_reduction.html .
When I select a part of second minute and choose 'get noise profile'
I don't see any indication that whether that button worked.
Is there any way to find out - what noise statistics did audacity gathered ?

thanks.

DVDdoug
Forum Crew
Posts: 3335
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Post by DVDdoug » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:10 pm

If you haven't gotten an noise profile the "OK" button is greyed-out and you can't apply the effect.

Paul L
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:37 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Post by Paul L » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:21 pm

As min123 said, the sign that it worked is that part 2 becomes enabled when you open the dialog again.

Showing statistics is not yet impemented. It's a good idea for development.

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40455
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Post by kozikowski » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:38 pm

It's not going to tell you what your noise is. It's a bloodhound. You let it sniff the noise and it goes howling off down the show until it finds something that matches. Full stop.

If it fails, then you have to do the actual analysis and that's a lot harder.

Are you reading for an AudioBook? We have tools that can help.

I need to drop for a minute.

Koz

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40455
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: get noise profile does not give any information

Post by kozikowski » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:23 pm

part 2 becomes enabled when you open the dialog again.
Yes, but.

Noise Reduction will always open with the last known good profile, whether it's for your show or not. I don't know of any good way to make sure it's going to do what you want.

We can help if you're running into noise problems trying to record voice. Record a brief sound sample and post it here on the forum. Do Not Correct it or change it in any way. Record it normally and File > Export. Don't help it and don't send an MP3.

http://www.kozco.com/tech/audacity/Test ... _Clip.html

Are you on an iPhone or iPod? I know of an app that works pretty well with those. Straight Voice Memo and other apps have too much internal processing to be of use in quality theatrical work. Everything sounds like a wine glass cell call.

Koz

Post Reply