effects plug-in not working

Audacity Podcaster Forum.
Forum rules
ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
Gilly
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:03 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

effects plug-in not working

Post by Gilly » Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:26 pm

Hi Gale
I downloaded the DeClicker.ny and DeEsser.ny into my Audacity in Program Files(x86) but they are not appearing in Effects. Someone suggested go into Effects, Manager and Enable these plug-ins. But there is no Manager at the top of the effects or anywhere else in Effects. I have version 2.1.1 ??

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40404
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: effects plug-in not working

Post by kozikowski » Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:01 pm

You don't have Effects > Add / Remove Plugins? It's possible Effects Manager showed up in Audacity 2.1.2.

You dropped both of those files into the Plugins folder?

I've been finding that the need for DeEsser goes way up when you record badly and overuse Noise Reduction and other tools. SS sounds become aggressive and piercing. What's your microphone?

Koz

Gilly
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:03 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: effects plug-in not working

Post by Gilly » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:17 pm

No Koz there is no Manager, or Add/Remove options in Effects, Analyze or Generate. And I just downloaded the latest Version 2.1.2 (which by the way states Audacity 2.0.2 when I go into Help and About Audacity, instead of 2.1.2 ??)

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40404
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: effects plug-in not working

Post by kozikowski » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:43 pm

That's not right, either.

http://www.audacityteam.org/download/windows/

That's the only place you should be getting Windows Audacity from. Many people offer modified and bogus versions of Audacity, and having the version number scrambled is sometimes a good way to detect that.

Koz
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 11.42.20 AM.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 11.42.20 AM.png (98.88 KiB) Viewed 1001 times

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40404
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: effects plug-in not working

Post by kozikowski » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:45 pm

If you want a clean Windows program, the installer should ask you if you want to reset the preferences and settings. Say yes.

Koz

Post Reply