No macro-output folder

Feedback and Reviews for Audacity 3.x
Forum rules
This board is ONLY for general feedback and discussion about Audacity 3.X.

If you require help, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Manjel
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:06 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

No macro-output folder

Post by Manjel » Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:12 pm

When applying macros to a project, the macro-output folder does not get created anymore, meaning the file just gets overwritten.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81345
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by steve » Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:33 pm

Which version of Audacity?
What's in your Macro?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Manjel
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:06 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by Manjel » Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:25 pm

Sorry, forgot to post more details. I'm using Audacity 3.0.0.0. Here's the macro code:

Code: Select all

RemoveTracks:
Import2:Filename="audiofile"
ChangeTempo:Percentage="50" SBSMS="0"
Exportwav:

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81345
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by steve » Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:43 pm

The "macro-ouput" folder is only created when you select the option to:
Apply Macro to: [Files]

Additional information: https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/macros.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Manjel
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:06 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by Manjel » Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:50 pm

On 2.4.2 Audacity used to create a folder when you apply a macro via Tools > Apply macro.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81345
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by steve » Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:02 pm

Manjel wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:50 pm
On 2.4.2 Audacity used to create a folder when you apply a macro via Tools > Apply macro.
Yes, you can do it that way in both Audacity 2.4.2 and Audacity 3.0.0.
(I usually keep the Macro Palette open when I'm using a lot of macros, so I've just tested doing it your way in Audacity 2.4.2 and Audacity 3.0.0 and it's the same in both cases)
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Manjel
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:06 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by Manjel » Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:17 pm

I tested it and it did not create the folder because the imported file was already in a folder called "macro-output". Is this intentional?

Manjel
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:06 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by Manjel » Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:20 am

Forgot to mention that it used to create a folder even when the imported file was already in "macro-output".

billw58
Forum Staff
Posts: 5591
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by billw58 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:24 am

There are two issues here.

1) In 2.4.2 and in 3.0.0, applying a macro (that contains an Import step and and Export step) creates a macro-output folder in the source folder. It doesn't matter if you use the Manage Macros dialog or the Macros Palette or use Tools > Apply Macro. If you change the file path in the Import step then a new macro-output folder is created in the new source folder, even within a macro-output folder.

2) In 3.0.0 subsequent runs of a macro that contains an Import and Export step will not create a new macro-output folder when the file path in the Import step is changed to a different folder. It will use the first-created macro-output folder during that run of Audacity. Quitting and re-launching Audacity will cause the macro to create a new macro-output folder in the new source directory (if it does not already exist), but, again, subsequent runs of the macro (with a different source folder) will not create a new macro-output folder in the new source folder.

@Manjel: is issue 2 what you're seeing?

-- Bill

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81345
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No macro-output folder

Post by steve » Thu Apr 08, 2021 9:39 am

Manjel wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:17 pm
because the imported file was already in a folder called "macro-output".
Ah ha. I thought there must be some missing details.

I can reproduce the problem by first running the macro with:

Code: Select all

Import2:Filename="<some location>/audiofile"
and then again with:

Code: Select all

Import2:Filename="<some location>/New Folder/audiofile"
Is that what you are doing?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply