Noise Gate Issue? [SOLVED]

Feedback and Reviews for Audacity 3.x
Forum rules
This board is ONLY for general feedback and discussion about Audacity 3.X.

If you require help, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Locked
mafg1953
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:49 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Noise Gate Issue? [SOLVED]

Post by mafg1953 » Thu Mar 18, 2021 5:23 pm

Hi,

I'm at work on a Win 7 Pro Machine (I know it's not supported) and I have Audacity 3.0.0 running.

I was playing around with Noise Gate (vs. Noise Reduction) to see what flexibility there was in that plugin.

What I'm finding is that in 3.0.0, I need to have the "Hold" parameter set at Zero for the effect to work on my audio. In 2.4.2, I just loaded the defaults and it worked fine.

If I don't have "Hold" set at Zero, and I click OK, I get nothing other than that the dialog box disappears but there is no progress dialog or no impact on my audio. See screen shots below.

I am going to test this on Win 10 when I get home tonight.

Mike


Ver 2.4.2 - Before/After Noise Gate Defaults
NG 2.4.2.JPG
NG 2.4.2.JPG (100.3 KiB) Viewed 1408 times


Ver 3.0.0 - Before/After Noise Gate Defaults
NG 3.0.0.JPG
NG 3.0.0.JPG (105.4 KiB) Viewed 1408 times


Ver 3.0.0 - Before/After Noise Gate Defaults (Hold at 0 seconds)
NG 3.0.0-A.JPG
NG 3.0.0-A.JPG (102.88 KiB) Viewed 1408 times

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Noise Gate Issue?

Post by steve » Thu Mar 18, 2021 6:20 pm

Thanks for the report. It's a bug.
I can't immediately see a fix, so I'll log it.

The only workaround for now is to always set "hold" to zero.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Noise Gate Issue?

Post by steve » Thu Mar 18, 2021 8:22 pm

Making some progress here.

The cause of the problem is due to an Audacity update that happened after Noise Gate was updated.

I'm currently testing a possible temporary fix so that you can use Noise Gate fully while waiting for the next Audacity release. I'll post it here when I'm happy that it does the job correctly.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Noise Gate Issue?

Post by steve » Thu Mar 18, 2021 9:09 pm

Here's a modified version of the Noise Gate plug-in.
I've named it "Noise Gate 2" so that you can distinguish it from the original.

It is a "Nyquist plug-in". Installation instructions for Windows are here: https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/ins ... st_install

After installing the plug-in, enable it in the Plug-in Manager, and disable the original Noise Gate.

When the next version of Audacity is released (we are expecting a short release cycle for the next version), you will be able to disable "Noise Gate 2" and re-enable "Noise Gate".

Here's the plug-in:
noisegate2.ny
(8.65 KiB) Downloaded 482 times
Let me know how you get on.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

mafg1953
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:49 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Noise Gate Issue?

Post by mafg1953 » Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:12 pm

Thanks Steve - I'll give it a try.

Mike

mafg1953
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:49 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Noise Gate Issue?

Post by mafg1953 » Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:22 am

steve wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 9:09 pm
Here's a modified version of the Noise Gate plug-in.
I've named it "Noise Gate 2" so that you can distinguish it from the original.

. . . . .

Let me know how you get on.
Thanks Steve, seems to be working with various values for the "Hold" parameter now.

Mike

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81379
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Noise Gate Issue [SOLVED]

Post by steve » Fri Mar 19, 2021 10:05 am

mafg1953 wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:22 am
Thanks Steve, seems to be working with various values for the "Hold" parameter now.
Super.

Remember that this is just a temporary workaround. When you next upgrade Audacity you should switch back to the official Noise Gate (I've logged the bug as "P2" to ensure that it is fixed in the next Audacity release).

I'll lock this topic as it contains a fix that I expect others will need.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Locked