Manage Macros

Feedback and bug reports for Audacity 3.0.3 alpha
Forum rules
This forum is only for feedback and bug reports for the specified version of Audacity.

All bug reports must include the following information:
  • Exact version number of Audacity
  • Operating system version
  • Brief description of the problem
  • Detailed, step by step instructions for how to reproduce the problem
Bug reports that do not include the above information will be deleted

Additional information and / or screenshots should be included as necessary to adequately describe the problem.
FL Coast
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Manage Macros

Post by FL Coast » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:01 pm

Audacity 3.0.0rc06

Under the Manage Macros, if you edit a macro, there is no "OK" button to initiate the save. Must hit the X button, then click OK.
Last edited by FL Coast on Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81439
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Manage Macros

Post by steve » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:06 pm

FL Coast wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:01 pm
Under the Manage Macros, ... there is no "OK" button
Same here on Linux.

Thanks for reporting this.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81439
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Manage Macros

Post by steve » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:10 pm

FL Coast wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:01 pm
Under the Manage Macros, if you edit a macro, there is no "OK" button to initiate the save.
Apparently this is intentional :?

From the Audacity bug tracker:
Bug 2524 - Macros "OK" button is confusing - doesn't do "what it says on the tin"

Comment #3
OK button does much the same as cancel, so I removed it.
  • OnCancel prompts you if there has been a change.
  • OnOK saves without prompting.
That difference is too slight to merit a button, and with the OK
button present, people might/do reasonably expect the dialog to apply the macro too.

I also improved positioning of these buttons, and fixed a case where cancel did not appear from the dialog to actually cancel your edits (even though it actually did).

Those steps were:
- Edit a macro
- Cancel Macro dialog
- Say 'no' to save changes.
- Reopen Macro dialog

Observe:
A: Changes appeared to have been made, despite saying 'no'.
Personally I think this is still confusing, and I assume that you also find it unclear as you raised the issue here, so I'm inclined to reopen the bug.

Do you think it would be less confusing if the button was labelled "Close" rather than "Cancel"?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

FL Coast
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Manage Macros

Post by FL Coast » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:37 pm

Personally I think this is still confusing, and I assume that you also find it unclear as you raised the issue here, so I'm inclined to reopen the bug.

Do you think it would be less confusing if the button was labelled "Close" rather than "Cancel"?
Agreed. By having only "Cancel" I was not pressing that button in fear of loosing the changes to the Macro I just Edited. Even Close is still confusing.

Maybe, Save with no other dialog and Cancel with (or without) a dialog box Exit without saving, YES or NO.

FL Coast
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Manage Macros

Post by FL Coast » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:45 pm

Maybe, Save with no other dialog and Cancel with (or without) a dialog box Exit without saving, YES or NO.
If that is not acceptable, Then maybe the single button that reads Save/Cancel. That might be more doable and less confusing.

FL Coast
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:07 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Manage Macros

Post by FL Coast » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:52 pm

FL Coast wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:45 pm
Maybe, Save with no other dialog and Cancel with (or without) a dialog box Exit without saving, YES or NO.
If that is not acceptable, Then maybe the single button that reads Save/Cancel. That might be more doable and less confusing.
or maybe the simplest would just be............

EXIT

at least that still leaves me with a feeling I still have options if I hit this button.
Last edited by FL Coast on Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

billw58
Forum Staff
Posts: 5594
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: Manage Macros

Post by billw58 » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:53 pm

My quick-take on this is to rename the "Cancel" button to "Close", but to add "Save" and "Cancel" buttons that become active when a macro is created or edited. So "Cancel" reverts the changes to a macro, or deletes an unsaved (new) macro. Should it ask for confirmation? Or is this getting too busy/complicated?

Doesn't "Cancel" (as currently displayed) mean revert everything? Wouldn't this mean reverting all changes made to macros including new ones?

"Cancel" makes sense when the window is "shrunk" and is the "Macros Palette" ("Cancel" means "don't apply a macro"), but makes less sense when the window is "expanded" and is the "Manage Macros" dialog. For consistency with the two versions of the dialog perhaps this button should always be labelled "Close".

Playing with this I've found what may be an inconsistency.

Open or create a project with some audio in it.

1) Edit an existing macro, changing one or more steps in the macro
2) Click on a different macro in the left panel
- you get a "Save changes" dialog

1) Edit an existing macro
2) Click the Apply Macro to "Project" button
- the changes are saved (without confirmation dialog) and the macro is applied

In any case, what we have works, so I don't think I'd want to hold up 3.0.0 for this.

-- Bill

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 14675
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Manage Macros

Post by waxcylinder » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:56 pm

FL Coast wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:01 pm
Audacity 3.0.0rc06

Under the Manage Macros, if you edit a macro, there is no "OK" button to initiate the save. Must hit the X button, then click OK.
Or just do something else in the Macro Manager
a) shift to a different Macro
b) Hit the New button for a new macro
c) Import or Export
d) or just Run the macro

But yes, an "OK" button in the right hand button set could be a good idea.

I've written a fair number of Macros - mainly for QA speed testing - and I've never felt the need for an "OK" button


Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * *

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 14675
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Manage Macros

Post by waxcylinder » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:58 pm

billw58 wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:53 pm
Doesn't "Cancel" (as currently displayed) mean revert everything? Wouldn't this mean reverting all changes made to macros including new ones?
Cancel provokes a dialog asking if you want to save the changes or not.

Peter.
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * *

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81439
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Manage Macros

Post by steve » Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:05 pm

billw58 wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:53 pm
Doesn't "Cancel" (as currently displayed) mean revert everything?
By convention, "Cancel" means "revert changes and close the dialog", which is what both I and FL Coast assumed that it meant:
" By having only "Cancel" I was not pressing that button in fear of loosing the changes to the Macro I just Edited."
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply