Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Bug reports for Audacity 2.3.1 alpha
Forum rules
This forum is only for feedback and bug reports for the specified version of Audacity.

All bug reports must include the following information:
  • Exact version number of Audacity
  • Operating system version
  • Brief description of the problem
  • Detailed, step by step instructions for how to reproduce the problem
Bug reports that do not include the above information will be deleted

Additional information and / or screenshots should be included as necessary to adequately describe the problem.
LivingInternet
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:19 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by LivingInternet » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:34 pm

Now I'm worried about putting an Equalization effect in a macro.

I just added one, using a "reduce rattle" preset suggested by Trebor. And the parameter shows it in the Manage Macros window. However, when I click Edit, the GUI that pops up does not show that preset, but rather has "unnamed" with a different curve.

Is there some way I can tell if the macro is invoking the equalization with the reduce-rattle preset as recorded in the macro file, or instead is using the unnamed preset as shown in the GUI when I click Edit?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by steve » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:31 pm

You could do a test run on a "white noise" track.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

LivingInternet
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:19 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by LivingInternet » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:10 pm

I think there is an issue with Equalization as well, at least in this sense. Whenever I opened it in the past, it showed the 100 Hz rumble preset. Because that was the one I used a lot. It would remember this preset through Audacity close and reopen.

However, now, it resets every time to "unnamed". I just ran it using 100Hz rumble preset, then when it finished I opened it again from the Effects menu, and it had immediately reset to "unnamed".

Change Pitch at least does still remember the last pitch percentage, as long as Audacity stays open.

Please let me know if I'm mistaken about something, or if you'd like me to open a separate ticket.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by steve » Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:07 pm

LivingInternet wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:10 pm
Please let me know if I'm mistaken about something, or if you'd like me to open a separate ticket.
I'm seeing the same here.
No need to start a new topic. I'll log it on the bug tracker.

Looks like we currently have multiple problems with effects. This is what I'm seeing, let me know if you are getting different results:
  • Amplify: OK
  • Auto Duck: OK
  • Bass and Treble: OK
  • Change Pitch: OK within current session. Does not retain settings after restart.
  • Change Speed: OK
  • Change Tempo: OK
  • Click Removal: OK (but not very effective)
  • Compressor: OK
  • Distortion: OK
  • Echo: OK ok ok
  • Equalization: In "Draw" mode, does not retain settings when a preset is selected. Does retain settings that are created manually.
    Presets in "Manage" button don't work. "Factory" preset (under "Manage" button) is unpredictable.
  • Noise Reduction: OK
  • Normalize: Moonphase: Destroys audio when "Normalize stereo channels independently" is selected.
  • Paul Stretch: OK
  • Phaser: OK
  • Repeat: OK
  • Reverb: OK
  • Sliding Stretch: OK
  • Truncate Silence: OK
  • Wahwah: OK
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

LivingInternet
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:19 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by LivingInternet » Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:15 pm

Great work.

I had not seen normal normalization destroy the audio. But I have switched to RMS normalization at this point anyway.

I have some work I really need to get done. I'm guessing I should fall back to 2.2.2 to be safe?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Macros: Change Pitch intermittently zero'd out

Post by steve » Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:25 pm

2.2.2 is pretty well tested - it's been out for a good while with few issues.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply