Saving files

Thanks in advance for your patience - I’m just getting started in the audio book narration world, and I have some pretty basic questions. If this one has already been answered, please point me to the relevant post. Cheers!

Saving files: what’s a good system? Here’s what I’m doing now, and it’s getting confusing.

1. Record a chapter.
  2. Save it in Audacity, something like this: 1_BookTitle_raw.aup
  3. Export the raw recording as a .wav file: 1_BookTitle_raw.wav
  4. Edit the recording in Audacity, using the .aup file. Save this as 1_BookTitle_ed.aup
  5. Export the edited recording as a .wav file: 1_BookTitle_ed.wav
  6. Perform mastering chain on edited recording in Audacity, using the .aup file. Save this as 1_BookTitle_mc.aup
  7. Export mastered file into .wav format: 1_BookTitle_mc.wav
  8. Export mastered file into .mp3 format: 1_BookTitle_mc.mp3
  9. Upload the .mp3 file to ACX

First of all, is that too many steps? Am I creating unnecessary files?

And secondly, when I make changes in an .aup file, export the changed version as a .wav file, and then go to close the .aup file, it asks if I want to save changes to the .aup file. I’ve been selecting “No” because I don’t want to override that .aup file (in case I want to go back and have access to the version that existed prior to the most recent change), but on one occasion I selected “No” and when I went to upload the file to ACX, there was nothing there (just a recording of silence). Thankfully I was just able to go back to the previous version, but still, it confused me.

I’m looking for a basic step-by-step process that I can use for all of my projects so that I can easily find what I need. Thanks so much!

The general rule in making backups, is to backup things that will be very expensive (either in time or money) to recreate.

So backing up the original recording is an obvious one.