Peak Levels

Hi, as a novice, I am having trouble getting all three specifications working at the same time - noise level, volume and peak levels. While I can manage noise levels and volume, it seems impossible to get peak levels to an average of -3db at the same time as the other two. Because Audible.com specifies ‘no more than -3db’ I was unsure if that meant they could be averaging -4db also. (The volume range is specific, so I wondered whether there was a lower limit to the -3db.) Apologies if this question is stupid! And a second question - if I get my volume levels okay, plus my noise floor is okay, but my average peak is either -2db or -4db, what is the least intrusive way of getting it in line? (I have discovered some effects produce a horrible tinny sound and want to use as few as possible.

And that in one paragraph is what’s been preventing us from writing the definitive WIKI on how to make an ACX audiobook file. It’s audio whack-a-mole.

If you got the noise and average loudness (RMS) to work, then you can cheat the peaks with Effect > Limiter

You don’t have to go nuts with “average peak calculation”, etc. Just run Normalize with a value of -3. No part of the show will exceed that value.

How did you shoot the work and what steps did you need to get all the values (except peak) to hit? Every fifth forum posting is “I’m a newbie and I want to record an audiobook.”

Generally, getting overall loudness (RMS) to work screws up noise and getting noise to work makes your voice trash. And then you whack the red mole and the blue mole pops up…

Koz

Thanks so much for your reply. It’s a relief to discover that I am not the only one with this problem…that everyone has this problem… I take from your answer that my peaks do not have to have an average of -3b - just so long as they do not surpass -3b?? Regards, Margaret.